How To Tether Your Phone To a Mac Using Bluetooth

Moved

http://blog.heatery.com/2008/06/how-to-tether-your-phone-to-mac-using.html

2 comments so far

  1. mjs31 on

    Wow. Thanks so much on the information to setup tether my blackberry to my mac. Worked like a charm.
    Not sure if you read this often, but how about connection via usb? Suggestions..

  2. heatery on

    Glad it worked for you.

    I did a little work on USB tethering, but never could make it work. If you want to take a shot at it, then you’ll have to figure out a way to communicate with the Blackberry internal modem over USB, which will require some USB to Blackberry drivers. I tried Pocketmac, which is a sync program that installs some USB to Blackberry drivers. If I remember right, Pocketmac installs a device to /dev/cu.Blackberry (or something similar). If you can use a terminal program (like minicom) to open /dev/cu.Blackberry and issue “ATZ” and you get a response “OK” then we should be able to create a modem script to make it work. I was able to use minicom to open /dev/cu.Blackberry, but when I issued any AT commands, I got no response.

    Let me know if you make any progress.

    Good luck.
    -Ryan


Leave a Reply

